Header Section

 

CSIR - Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research
Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India

Navigation Section

First slide

Theme Container Section

Theme container font Section

Groups

Profile-New Section

Hitendra Kumar Patel-Img

Hitendra Kumar Patel

Principal Scientist
Email: hkpatel@ccmb.res.in
Phone: +91-040-27192577

Research Interests

Our laboratory is interested in studying the mechanism of bacterial virulence and plant defense using Xanthomonas oryzae pv. oryzae (Xoo) and rice as a model system. In the area of rice functional genomics, our group is working towards identification and characterization of genes involved in important agronomic traits in rice such as disease (bacterial blight, sheath blight) and pest (yellow stem borer) resistance, abiotic stress resistance, higher yield, early maturation etc. We are attempting to develop novel markers for some of these important agronomic traits using genetic methodologies, NGS and bioinformatic analysis. The novel markers will be useful for the development of newer rice varieties.

Selected Publications

Interaction of the Xanthomonas effectors XopQ and XopX results in induction of rice immune responses. Deb et al. The Plant Journal. (2020). https://doi.org/10.1111/tpj.14924

Dual activities of receptor like kinase OsWAKL21.2 induce immune responses. Malukani et al. Plant Physiology. (2020). https://doi.org/10.1104/pp.19.01579

Overexpression of OsPUB41, a Rice E3 ubiquitin ligase induced by cell wall degrading enzymes, enhances immune responses in Rice and Arabidopsis. Kachewar et al. BMC Plant Biology. (2019). 19; 530.

Action of multiple cell wall degrading enzymes is required for elicitation of innate immune responses during Xanthomonas oryzae pv. oryzae infection in rice. Tayi et al. Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions. (2016). 29(8):599-608.

Transcriptional profiling of rice leaves undergoing a hypersensitive response like reaction induced by Xanthomonas oryzae pv. oryzae cellulase. Jha et al. Rice. (2010). 3: 1-21.

Education & Experience

Publications

Hitendra Kumar Patel-Group Pic
Hitendra Kumar Patel-Img

Hitendra Kumar Patel

Principal Scientist

2647

hkpatel@ccmb.res.in

Raju Madanala-Img

Raju Madanala

Senior Technical Officer

2647

raju.m@ccmb.res.in

Default Profile Pic

Vinoth Kumar K

Technician(1)

skvinoth@ccmb.res.in

B Kranthi-Img

B Kranthi

Technical Officer

2598

kranthi.brahma@ccmb.res.in

Jamaloddin-Img

Jamaloddin

Research Associate-I

2647

jamal@ccmb.res.in

Donald James-Img

Donald James

Research Associate-I

2647

donald@ccmb.res.in

Gokulan C G-Img

Gokulan C G

Senior Research Fellow

2599

gokulan@ccmb.res.in

Komal Ashok Awalellu-Img

Komal Ashok Awalellu

Senior Research Fellow

2598

komal@ccmb.res.in

K Bipin Kumar-Img

K Bipin Kumar

Project Assistant-II

2598

bipin@ccmb.res.in

RajKanwar Nathawat-Img

RajKanwar Nathawat

Project Assistant-II

2599

rajkanwar@ccmb.res.in

Kamal Kumar Malukani-Img

Kamal Kumar Malukani

Project Assistant-II

2647

kamal@ccmb.res.in

Sohini Deb-Img

Sohini Deb

Project Assistant-II

2599

sohinideb@ccmb.res.in

Vishnu Narayanan M-Img

Vishnu Narayanan M

Project Assistant-II

2599

vishnu.m@ccmb.res.in

Palash Gosh-Img

Palash Gosh

Project Assistant-II

2598

palashg@ccmb.res.in

Default Profile Pic

Mani Deepika M

Project Assistant-II

2598

manideepika@ccmb.res.in

Default Profile Pic

Rennya PR

Project Assistant-II

2598

prrennya@ccmb.res.in

Default Profile Pic

Hemsagar Patel

Field Assistant

2599

Default Profile Pic

Vutukuri Rani

Field Assistant

2599

Default Profile Pic

Valluri Shiva Rambabu

Field Assistant

2599

Default Profile Pic

Rupdhar Yadav

Field Assistant

2599