Header Section

 

CSIR - Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research
Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India

Navigation Section

First slide

Theme Container Section

Theme container font Section

Groups

Profile-New Section

Profile Pic

Rakesh Kumar Mishra

Director
Email: mishra@ccmb.res.in
Phone: +91-040-27192658,27160031

Research Interests

In complex organisms, identical genome is packaged in cell type specific manner during embryonic development - one genome gives rise to multiple epigenomes - that determine the cell type specific expression pattern of genes and cellular identity. Once this packaging is achieved by an intricate developmental program, the chromatin structure is maintained during subsequent cell divisions by epigenetic cellular memory mechanisms. Using Drosophila as our major model organism, we are investigating molecular mechanisms of these processes. We use genetic, cell biology, biochemical and bioinformatics approaches to investigate evolutionarily conserved features of genome organization, chromatin structure and epigenetic regulation of genes during embryonic development. We also investigate functional relevance of non-coding sequences of complex genomes, in particular the repetitive part, in nuclear architecture, chromatin organization and gene regulation. Taking comparative genomics approach we study molecular basis of the functional features of chromatin level regulatory elements like chromatin domain boundary and cellular memory elements.

Selected Publications

Repeat performance: how do genome packaging and regulation depend on simple sequence repeats Ram P Kumar, Ramamoorthy Senthilkumar, Vipin Singh and Rakesh K Mishra BioEssays 32, 165-174, 2010.


Novel motifs distinguish multiple homologues of Polycomb in vertebrates: expansion and diversification of the epigenetic toolkit Ramamoorthy Senthilkumar and Rakesh K Mishra BMC Genomics 10, 459, 2009.

Transcriptional activation by GAGA factor is through its direct interaction with dmTAF3 Vivek S Chopra, Arumugam Srinivasan, Ram P Kumar, Krishnaveni Mishra, Denis Basquin, Mylène Docquier, Carole Seum, Daniel Pauli, Rakesh K Mishra Dev. Biol. 317, 660-670, 2008.

Boundary Element-Associated Factor 32B Connects Chromatin Domains to the Nuclear Matrix Rashmi U. Pathak, Nandini Rangaraj, Satish Kallappagoudar, Krishnaveni Mishra, and Rakesh K. Mishra Mol. Cell. Biol. 27, 4796-4806, 2007.

Extreme conservation of noncoding DNA near HoxD complex of vertebrates Ch Sabarinadh, S Subramanian, A Tripathi and Rakesh K Mishra BMC Genomics, 5, 75, 2004

No data Found....

No data Found.... No data Found.... No data Found.... No data Found.... No data Found....No data Found.... No data Found.... No data Found.... No data Found.... No data Found....

Publications

Group Pic
Profile Pic

Rakesh Kumar Mishra

Director

2658

mishra@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Rashmi Upadhyay Pathak

Senior Principal Scientist

2656

rashmi@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

A Srinivasan

Sr. Technical Officer(2)

2652

asrini@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Runa Hamid

Project Investigator

2783

runahamid@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Shreekant Verma

CSIR-PDF

2660

shreekant@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Shagufta Khan

Senior Research Fellow

2656

shagufta@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

K. Phanindhar

Senior Research Fellow

2660

kundurthiphanindhar@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Nikhil Hajirnis

Senior Research Fellow

2652

nikhil.hajirnis@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Ashish Bihani

Senior Research Fellow

2652

ashish@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Ravina Saini

Junior Research Fellow

2783

ravina@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Avvaru Akshay Kumar

Junior Research Fellow

2960

avvaru@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Soujanya M. S

DBT-JRF

2783

msoujanya@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Sonu Yadav

CSIR-JRF

2656

sonu@ccmb.res.in