Header Section

 

CSIR - Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research
Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India

Navigation Section

First slide

Theme Container Section

Theme container font Section

Profile-New Section

Profile Pic

Rajan Sankaranarayanan

Chief Scientist
Email: sankar@ccmb.res.in
Phone: +91-040-27192832

Research Interests

Our laboratory is interested in exploring the mechanistic basis and functional relevance of unique proofreading mechanisms that are operational in the cell to maintain a high fidelity during translation of the genetic code. We are particularly interested in a D-aminoacyl-tRNA deacylase(DTD)-fold present in two functional contexts a) as an editing module of archaeal threonyl-tRNA synthetases and b) as a free standing domain responsible for 'Chiral proofreading' i.e removal of D-amino acids mistakenly attached to tRNA. We are currently looking at the biological role of DTD using cell biological as well as in vivo approaches using model systems like drosophila and mouse. Structural biology work is underway on a couple of other proofreading systems for which the mechanism is not well understood.

Selected Publications

Kuncha, S. K., Venkadasamy, V. L., Amudhan, G., Dahate, P., Kola, S.R., Pottabathini, S., Kruparani , S.P., Shekar, P.C. , & Sankaranarayanan, R. (2020) Genomic innovation of ATD alleviates mistranslation associated with multicellularity in Animalia. eLife 2020;9:e58118. (Covered by elife Science Digest- ‘Proofreading to evolve’ June 18 2020 https://elifesciences.org/digests/58118/proofreading-to-evolve )

Mazeed, M. , Singh, R., Kumar P., Raman, B., Kruparani , S.P., & Sankaranarayanan, R. (2020) Recruitment of Archaeal DTD is a Key Event in the Emergence of Land Plants. bioRxiv doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.05.22.109876

Kuncha, S. K., Kruparani, S. P. and Sankaranarayanan, R. (2019) Chiral checkpoints during protein biosynthesis. J Biol Chem doi: 10.1074/jbc.REV119.008166.

Routh S.B. & Sankaranarayanan R. (2018) Enzyme action at RNA-protein interface in DTD-like fold. Curr Opin Struct Biol. 53, 107-114. doi: 10.1016/j.sbi.2018.07.013. [Epub ahead of print] Review.


Kuncha S.K., Suma K., Pawar K.I., Gogoi. J, Routh S.B., Pottabathini S., Kruparani S.P. & Sankaranarayanan R. (2018) A discriminator code-based DTD surveillance ensures faithful glycine delivery for protein biosynthesis in bacteria. elife doi: 10.7554/eLife.38232.

Education & Experiance

Publications

Group Pic
Profile Pic

Rajan Sankaranarayanan

Chief Scientist

2832

sankar@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

P Shobha Krupa Rani

Sr Principal Scientist

2835

pshobha@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Biswajit Pal

Principal Scientist

2831

pal@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

R Rukmini

Principal Technical Officer

2953

ruks@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

P Sambhavi

Sr. Technical Officer (1)

2835

sambavi@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

K Mallesham

Technical Officer

2921

malleshk@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Akshay Bhatnagar

Postdoctoral Fellow

2835

akshay27@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Gajanan Shrikant Patil

Senior Research Fellow

2834

gajananpatil@ccmb.res.in

Default Profile Pic

Priyadarshan Kinatukara

Research Associate (Project)

2833

priyadarshan@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

K Santosh Kumar

SRF (DST-INSPIRE)

2835

santoshkumar@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Mazeed Mohd

Senior Research Fellow

2834

mazeedmohd@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Jotin Gogoi

Senior Research Fellow

2834

jotin@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

RajKanwar Nathawat

Project Assistant-II

2599

rajkanwar@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Pradeep Kumar

Senior Research Fellow

2834

pradeep@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Sakshi Shambhavi

Junior Research Fellow

2834

sakshi@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Sudipta Mondal

Senior Research Fellow

2834

sudipta@ccmb.res.in

Default Profile Pic

Koushick S

Junior Research Fellow

2835

koushick@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Raghavendra Singh

Senior Project Fellow

2833

raghav_sbl@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Vinitha Lakshmi V

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

vinitha@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Kezia J Ann

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

kezia.ann@ccmb.res.in

Profile Pic

Noopur Dubey

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

noopurdubey@ccmb.res.in

Default Profile Pic

Ankit Roy

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

ankit@ccmb.res.in

Default Profile Pic

Gurumoorthy A

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

gurumoorthy@ccmb.res.in