Header Section

Navigation Section

First slide

Theme Container Section

Theme container font Section

Groups

Profile-New Section

Rajan Sankaranarayanan-Img

Rajan Sankaranarayanan

Outstanding Scientist
Email: sankar@ccmb.res.in
Phone: +91-040-27192832

Research Interests

Our laboratory is interested in exploring the mechanistic basis and functional relevance of unique proofreading mechanisms that are operational in the cell to maintain a high fidelity during translation of the genetic code. We are particularly interested in a D-aminoacyl-tRNA deacylase(DTD)-fold present in two functional contexts a) as an editing module of archaeal threonyl-tRNA synthetases and b) as a free standing domain responsible for 'Chiral proofreading' i.e removal of D-amino acids mistakenly attached to tRNA. We are currently looking at the biological role of DTD using cell biological as well as in vivo approaches using model systems like drosophila and mouse. Structural biology work is underway on a couple of other proofreading systems for which the mechanism is not well understood.

Selected Publications

Gogoi, J., Bhatnagar, A., Ann, K.J., Pottabathini, S., Singh, R., Mazeed, M., Kuncha, S.K., Kruparani, S.P., Sankaranarayanan, R. (2022) Switching a conflicted bacterial DTD-tRNA code is essential for the emergence of mitochondria. Sci. Adv. 8, eabj7307, 1-9. doi: 10.1126/sciadv.abj7307.

Patil G. S. , Kinatukara P., Mondal S., Shambhavi S., Patel K.D., Pramanik S., Dubey N., Narasimhan S., Madduri M K, Pal B, Gokhale R S, & Sankaranarayanan R. (2021) A universal pocket in fatty acyl-AMP ligases ensures redirection of fatty acid pool away from coenzyme A-based activation. elife doi: 10.7554/eLife.70067.

Mazeed, M. , Singh, R., Kumar P., Roy, A., Raman, B., Kruparani , S.P., & Sankaranarayanan, R. (2021) Recruitment of Archaeal DTD is a Key Event Toward the Emergence of Land Plants. Sci. Adv. 2021; 7 : eabe8890 DOI: 10.1126/sciadv.abe8890

Kuncha, S. K., Venkadasamy, V. L., Amudhan, G., Dahate, P., Kola, S.R., Pottabathini, S., Kruparani , S.P., Shekar, P.C. , & Sankaranarayanan, R. (2020) Genomic innovation of ATD alleviates mistranslation associated with multicellularity in Animalia. eLife 2020;9:e58118. (Covered by elife Science Digest- ‘Proofreading to evolve’ June 18 2020 https://elifesciences.org/digests/58118/proofreading-to-evolve )

Kuncha, S. K., Kruparani, S. P. and Sankaranarayanan, R. (2019) Chiral checkpoints during protein biosynthesis. J Biol Chem doi: 10.1074/jbc.REV119.008166.

Routh S.B. & Sankaranarayanan R. (2018) Enzyme action at RNA-protein interface in DTD-like fold. Curr Opin Struct Biol. 53, 107-114. doi: 10.1016/j.sbi.2018.07.013. [Epub ahead of print] Review.

Education & Experience

Publications

Rajan Sankaranarayanan-Group Pic
Rajan Sankaranarayanan-Img

Rajan Sankaranarayanan

Outstanding Scientist

2832

sankar@ccmb.res.in

P Shobha Krupa Rani-Img

P Shobha Krupa Rani

Sr Principal Scientist

2835

pshobha@ccmb.res.in

Biswajit Pal-Img

Biswajit Pal

Principal Scientist

2831

pal@ccmb.res.in

R Rukmini-Img

R Rukmini

Principal Technical Officer

2953

ruks@ccmb.res.in

P Sambhavi-Img

P Sambhavi

Sr. Technical Officer (1)

2835

sambavi@ccmb.res.in

K Mallesham-Img

K Mallesham

Technical Officer

2921

malleshk@ccmb.res.in

Akshay Bhatnagar-Img

Akshay Bhatnagar

Postdoctoral Fellow

2835

akshay27@ccmb.res.in

Jotin Gogoi-Img

Jotin Gogoi

Senior Research Fellow

2834

jotin@ccmb.res.in

Priyadarshan Kinatukara-Img

Priyadarshan Kinatukara

Research Associate (Project)

2833

priyadarshan@ccmb.res.in

Pradeep Kumar-Img

Pradeep Kumar

Senior Research Fellow

2834

pradeep@ccmb.res.in

Sudipta Mondal-Img

Sudipta Mondal

Senior Research Fellow

2834

sudipta@ccmb.res.in

Default Profile Pic

Tushar Ranjan Moharana

Senior Research Fellow

2553

Koushick S-Img

Koushick S

Junior Research Fellow

2835

koushick@ccmb.res.in

RajKanwar Nathawat-Img

RajKanwar Nathawat

Project Assistant-II

2599

rajkanwar@ccmb.res.in

Sakshi Shambhavi-Img

Sakshi Shambhavi

Junior Research Fellow

2834

sakshi@ccmb.res.in

Mukul J S-Img

Mukul J S

Junior Research Fellow

2834

mukuljs@ccmb.res.in

Vinitha Lakshmi V-Img

Vinitha Lakshmi V

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

vinitha@ccmb.res.in

Ankit Roy	-Img

Ankit Roy

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

ankit@ccmb.res.in

Bapin Kumar Panda-Img

Bapin Kumar Panda

Project Associate-I

2834

bapinpanda@ccmb.res.in

Dinesh Babu K S-Img

Dinesh Babu K S

Senior Project Associate

2835

dinesh@ccmb.res.in

Santhosh K-Img

Santhosh K

Junior Research Fellow

2834

santhosh.k@ccmb.res.in

Suhail Madhar Hanif S -Img

Suhail Madhar Hanif S

Junior Research Fellow

2834

suhailhanif@ccmb.res.in

Nikita Shukla-Img

Nikita Shukla

Project Associate-I

2835

nikita.shukla@ccmb.res.in

R Viola Valarmathi-Img

R Viola Valarmathi

Project Associate-I

2835

violaraja@ccmb.res.in

Pujaita Banerjee-Img

Pujaita Banerjee

Project Associate-I

2835

pujaita@ccmb.res.in