Header Section

 

CSIR - Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research
Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India

Navigation Section

First slide

Theme Container Section

Theme container font Section

Groups

Profile-New Section

Rajan Sankaranarayanan-Img

Rajan Sankaranarayanan

Chief Scientist
Email: sankar@ccmb.res.in
Phone: +91-040-27192832

Research Interests

Our laboratory is interested in exploring the mechanistic basis and functional relevance of unique proofreading mechanisms that are operational in the cell to maintain a high fidelity during translation of the genetic code. We are particularly interested in a D-aminoacyl-tRNA deacylase(DTD)-fold present in two functional contexts a) as an editing module of archaeal threonyl-tRNA synthetases and b) as a free standing domain responsible for 'Chiral proofreading' i.e removal of D-amino acids mistakenly attached to tRNA. We are currently looking at the biological role of DTD using cell biological as well as in vivo approaches using model systems like drosophila and mouse. Structural biology work is underway on a couple of other proofreading systems for which the mechanism is not well understood.

Selected Publications

Mazeed, M. , Singh, R., Kumar P., Raman, B., Kruparani , S.P., & Sankaranarayanan, R. (2021) Recruitment of Archaeal DTD is a Key Event Toward the Emergence of Land Plants. Sci. Adv. 2021; 7 : eabe8890 DOI: 10.1126/sciadv.abe8890

Kuncha, S. K., Venkadasamy, V. L., Amudhan, G., Dahate, P., Kola, S.R., Pottabathini, S., Kruparani , S.P., Shekar, P.C. , & Sankaranarayanan, R. (2020) Genomic innovation of ATD alleviates mistranslation associated with multicellularity in Animalia. eLife 2020;9:e58118. (Covered by elife Science Digest- ‘Proofreading to evolve’ June 18 2020 https://elifesciences.org/digests/58118/proofreading-to-evolve )

Kuncha, S. K., Kruparani, S. P. and Sankaranarayanan, R. (2019) Chiral checkpoints during protein biosynthesis. J Biol Chem doi: 10.1074/jbc.REV119.008166.

Routh S.B. & Sankaranarayanan R. (2018) Enzyme action at RNA-protein interface in DTD-like fold. Curr Opin Struct Biol. 53, 107-114. doi: 10.1016/j.sbi.2018.07.013. [Epub ahead of print] Review.


Kuncha S.K., Suma K., Pawar K.I., Gogoi. J, Routh S.B., Pottabathini S., Kruparani S.P. & Sankaranarayanan R. (2018) A discriminator code-based DTD surveillance ensures faithful glycine delivery for protein biosynthesis in bacteria. elife doi: 10.7554/eLife.38232.

For more details please visit group's home page: http://e-portal.ccmb.res.in/e-space/sankar/index.html

Education & Experience

Publications

Rajan Sankaranarayanan-Group Pic
Rajan Sankaranarayanan-Img

Rajan Sankaranarayanan

Chief Scientist

2832

sankar@ccmb.res.in

P Shobha Krupa Rani-Img

P Shobha Krupa Rani

Sr Principal Scientist

2835

pshobha@ccmb.res.in

Biswajit Pal-Img

Biswajit Pal

Principal Scientist

2831

pal@ccmb.res.in

R Rukmini-Img

R Rukmini

Principal Technical Officer

2953

ruks@ccmb.res.in

P Sambhavi-Img

P Sambhavi

Sr. Technical Officer (1)

2835

sambavi@ccmb.res.in

K Mallesham-Img

K Mallesham

Technical Officer

2921

malleshk@ccmb.res.in

Akshay Bhatnagar-Img

Akshay Bhatnagar

Postdoctoral Fellow

2835

akshay27@ccmb.res.in

Priyadarshan Kinatukara-Img

Priyadarshan Kinatukara

Research Associate (Project)

2833

priyadarshan@ccmb.res.in

Mazeed Mohd-Img

Mazeed Mohd

Senior Research Fellow

2834

mazeedmohd@ccmb.res.in

Jotin Gogoi-Img

Jotin Gogoi

Senior Research Fellow

2834

jotin@ccmb.res.in

Pradeep Kumar-Img

Pradeep Kumar

Senior Research Fellow

2834

pradeep@ccmb.res.in

RajKanwar Nathawat-Img

RajKanwar Nathawat

Project Assistant-II

2599

rajkanwar@ccmb.res.in

Sudipta Mondal-Img

Sudipta Mondal

Senior Research Fellow

2834

sudipta@ccmb.res.in

Sakshi Shambhavi-Img

Sakshi Shambhavi

Junior Research Fellow

2834

sakshi@ccmb.res.in

Koushick S-Img

Koushick S

Junior Research Fellow

2835

koushick@ccmb.res.in

Mukul J S-Img

Mukul J S

Junior Research Fellow

2834

mukuljs@ccmb.res.in

Vinitha Lakshmi V-Img

Vinitha Lakshmi V

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

vinitha@ccmb.res.in

Kezia J Ann-Img

Kezia J Ann

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

kezia.ann@ccmb.res.in

Noopur Dubey-Img

Noopur Dubey

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

noopurdubey@ccmb.res.in

Ankit Roy	-Img

Ankit Roy

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

ankit@ccmb.res.in

Gurumoorthy A-Img

Gurumoorthy A

Junior Research Fellow (Project)

2835

gurumoorthy@ccmb.res.in